Why Be Green…

to preserve is key

In America’s mass consumer market, I am compelled to make My Alibi’s products Green.  As a mother, a cyclist, a daughter of the Earth, I am obligated to make my decisions with great care to not waste the resources available to me.  In my personal life, I use my limited buying power to chose products that I feel support a sustainable future.  This means I may pay more for my bag of corn chips then the average American, but “more for your money” always has hidden costs.  Is it worth saving a dollar to support companies who have wasteful business habits?  I don’t think so.We are entering an age when the total cost of a product has to be calculated off more then just a price tag.  If we figure in sustainable factors as well, Quality over Quantity becomes a much more cost effective way to spend our resources.  I am not saying that we should all be able to go out and spend thousands of dollars on a new wardrobe but rather by shopping more consciously, we may decide on one nice product instead of a bag full of disposable clothing.

As a designer, these issues dictate my business model on a daily basis.  I am building My Alibi to be Green because I am obligated by my values to do so.  So what is being built into My Alibi products to make them Green?  I am excited to say that I have just started working with a local Manufacturer in Oakland that is very progressive.  MIO (made in oakland) is creating living wage jobs and sewing high quality products.  They are going above and beyond just being local by educating their employees and helping them integrate in to society.  These are big issues in an industry that is constantly under sold by Overseas Sweat shops.  High quality, durable products made from High Quality performance fabrics is a standard for My Alibi.  We are now working towards sourcing these fabrics made of Post Consumer Recycled materials (ie: pop bottles).

The idea behind My Alibi Bloomers is to be able to utilize your existing wardrobe more effectively on the bike by offering a comfort level that is superior to the competition.  Having one nice pair of Bloomers that you can wear with many skirts, capri’s, shorts, etc, rather then a specific wardrobe to get on the bike.  Not only is this a simpler way, but it also increases the opportunities to use your bike as transportation, while helping you preserve your unique style image.  Yes, this is a different way of thinking about fashion, BUT I honestly believe it is an asset for living a more Green lifestyle.

My Alibi products are High Quality basic essentials to help you be comfortable and feel beautiful on the bike.  You can be confident that your purchase of My Alibi Clothing will support Green values that are working towards a more sustainable future.

About abbiemama

Former Pro Mountain Bike Racer, Mama of Dustin, Yogi, coach, designer.... Mission: To encourage more women to use their bike as transportation, fun and exercise. Be Green.
This entry was posted in Green Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

