Who am I?

Be True to You

Be True to You

In the last two issues I highlighted lovely customers, which I will continue to do again next month.  This month, however, I am going to tell you a bit about me instead.  Some of you know me personally, each from a different perspective.  Some know me as a racer, a mom, a coach, an artist, a wine (o), a woman, a friend, a sister, a designer, or an entrepreneur.  I am all of these these things but I want to focus on why I became the last two.  Honestly, it is not because I believe I have a better fashion sense then everyone out there, but rather that you have a more defined style then the current cycling apparel will let you flaunt.  I believe strongly that the bike deserves the throne, in our fuel-dependent world, as we all strive to be more green.  The perception that you must wear a Lycra billboard to even get on a bike creates a limiting environment for real life pedaling.  There is a time and place for this costume, but it is a small percentage of the riding opportunities that abound. *** I am compelled to satisfy the needs of the many women I meet each day.  The diversity of women is amazing.  Not only is there a challenge to satisfy the style differences that help us create our unique personalities but the multitude of feminine shapes that make us beautiful.  It is these challenges, along with my longing to share my love affair with the bike with women everywhere, that keeps me going.  Over the past 10 years, I have listened as many women express their frustrations both with finding adequate clothing and feeling comfortable and confident enough to add riding a bike to their regime.  Of the women that do overcome these obstacles, many of them find a new sense of self-confidence and develop a refreshed relationship to the world around them as well as their own body.

Anyone that know me well, knows that I am always striving for balance.  I am very passionate about my bike because it helps me find that balance.  I find it in the realizations that arise from the connection to the Earth that I feel on my bike.  It doesn’t matter if I am riding to town to the Farmer’s Market with Dustin in the trailer, or cresting the top of Vision on my routine ride.  It is the delight of the wind blowing through my hair and the blood pumping through my veins that returns the smile to my face.  The mental clarity that I find on a ride leaves me on a quest for knowledge and a desire to lighten my CO2 footprint even more each day.  I strive to lead by example by “being the change I want to see in the world”.  For me, to truly inspire a mainstream movement of women utilizing a bike as a form of transportation, as well as exercise, and recreation, it is necessary for me to give you the wardrobe to do it.  So that is how My Alibi has come to be my passion.  Our Planet is ready, our communities are ready, are you ready?

Smile & Ride,

Abbie

About abbiemama

Former Pro Mountain Bike Racer, Mama of Dustin, Yogi, coach, designer.... Mission: To encourage more women to use their bike as transportation, fun and exercise. Be Green.
This entry was posted in My Alibi is the Bike. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

