Vision Climb 20

St Patty’s Day and I must be feeling a little Irish because I got the mischievious urge to try something new.  After a morning rain a patch of blue sky appears, calling Dustin and I to the trails.  DD climbs abord the trailer with apple juice and cookies, he is ready for an adventure.  Just before we crest the top of the fireroad I look back and he is out.  The comfort of the slow climb will do that sometimes.  Today though, it gave me a new direction.  I decided not to stop at the pond, as usual.  Instead, we were going to attempt the Ridge.  As I pedalled up the pavement to the towers I went over every turn down the chute in my head.  I know it like the back of my hand,  I couldn’t think of one reason why I couldn’t pull the trailer down it.  I have been pulling it enough that I know how to ride to make it go where I want it to.  I decided that the singletrack to the Saddle would be the test.  If I had trouble there I would have to abort.  I stopped just before the downhill to buckle in my sweet sleeping boy (who had taken off his socks and boots and eaten all his cookies).  Then we hit he trail.  He woke up almost instantly as the first water bar probably felt like a roller coaster to him.  I looked back and he was into it so I let go of the brakes and we glided down the rut.  It was smooth so we were on a new adventure down the narrow tunnel of Shoe.  I do admit there were a few spots that were quite tight and I had to stop and direct the trailer through but overall it was great.  I did tip it twice, the first time I wasn’t even hardly moving as it was a rather technical section.  The second time was a bit more scary, as we were rolling quickly and it just caught a bit of an edge around a turn.  Dustin’s tears soon turned to laughter though.  It was just a moment of uneasiness.   We made it home in an hour and a half both excited from our new accomplishment.  Boy do I wish I could put a seat on the back of my bike right now.  We would be tearing up the trails together!

About abbiemama

Former Pro Mountain Bike Racer, Mama of Dustin, Yogi, coach, designer.... Mission: To encourage more women to use their bike as transportation, fun and exercise. Be Green.
This entry was posted in Vision Rides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

