Vision Climb 19

Sunlit Climb

Sunlit Climb

There is a connection to the forest that is undescribable.  You have to feel it to know it.  It removes me from society.  It let’s me understand the depth of our environment.  To truly “surf the dirt” is to know the woods.  To trust the earth.  To submit to it and be a part of it.  There is something about rolling through singletrack that will never be realized by those that are bound to the fire roads.  Riding everything is a part of it.  It is like the great surfers that are called to the wave.  The comprehensive nature of the land is abundant but you must be open and willing to accept it.

Today I felt like it was just me and the mountain lion.  I didn’t see a soul on my fluid loop through the woods.  I sailed effortlessly up Vision, did the DBV extention with the last steep pitch challenge before hitting the Chute.  I didn’t even flinch on the granny gear climb.  I just buckled down and charged.  I rolled in and was utterly amazed that I had finished in just 1:35.  How is that possible?  This was always a 1:50 ride for me.  My Fast Time was 1:45. B4 DD, I never broke that …  a month ago I did it in 1:40 and thought it was a fluke cuz I just didn’t feel I was trying.  Today I was just feeling it.  I would say maybe the trail is faster now, but this year I have taken 3 women on this ride, 2 of which it took over 2 hours.  Can I harness this feeling and take it to the race course this season?  I hope so.

About abbiemama

Former Pro Mountain Bike Racer, Mama of Dustin, Yogi, coach, designer.... Mission: To encourage more women to use their bike as transportation, fun and exercise. Be Green.
This entry was posted in Vision Rides. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

